Unofficial NVidia bugzilla?

September 2, 2012

The idea for this really comes from the Unofficial ATI bugzilla at http://ati.cchtml.com which appears to be successful. For NVidia issues the official way has been to email linux-bugs@nvidia.com or the unofficial method of posting on http://nvnews.net and hoping for a reply. Unfortunately I don’t find forums terribly useful for bug reports and the search functionality is less than ideal for issues.

I’ve been thinking of spinning up a Bugzilla instance for an Unofficial NVidia Bugzilla and inviting all distros to use it as well as the NVidia Linux engineers. But obviously I’d need some user/developer interest in this.

Would you use it?

7 Responses to “Unofficial NVidia bugzilla?”

  1. W00d5t0ck said

    I use nvidia drivers on Gentoo and Fedora, both at home and at work. Fortunately, I haven’t found too much bugs before, but if I would, I’d definitely like an issue tracker of any kind.

  2. Hans said

    I would consider using it. I really, really hate having to just send my bug reports into a black hole and not being able to search for existing issues or be able to keep track of them. I don’t understand why nvidia doesn’t already have a bugzilla (or something like it) open to the public

  3. Trizt said

    As an enduser I would have use of it, to find if I can upgrade to a new kernel and know that my graphics card will work with the closed source driver.

  4. johan said

    This sounds really good! Been using nvidia along time, and just now I have been having some troubles and found out that nvnews is a really terrible place.

  5. Alexandre Rostovtsev (tetromino) said

    +1 from me.

  6. anonymousmod said

    Anything that would help keep suspend/hibernate from breaking so much is welcom to me.

  7. Steffen Schaumburg said

    I don’t use the blob driver (or any nvidia GPUs for that matter) but this seems like a great idea.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

